HTML has links - PDF has Authentication
Beginning of Chapter  <<  388-823-0010 >>   388-823-0015

PDFWAC 388-823-0010


The following definitions apply to this chapter:
"ABAS-II" means adaptive behavior assessment system-second edition, which is a comprehensive, norm-referenced assessment of adaptive behavior and skills of individuals from birth through age 89.
"CAS" means the DAS-Naglieri cognitive assessment system, a clinical instrument for assessing intelligence based on a battery of cognitive tasks. The test is used for children ages five through seventeen years eleven months.
"Client" means a person with a developmental disability as defined in chapter 388-823 WAC who is currently eligible and active with the developmental disabilities administration (DDA).
"Community first choice" or "CFC" is a medicaid state plan program defined in chapter 388-106 WAC.
"C-TONI" means the comprehensive test of nonverbal intelligence, a battery of six subtests, designed to measure different aspects of nonverbal intellectual abilities from ages six to eighteen years eleven months.
"DAS" means differential ability scales, which is a cognitive abilities battery for children and adolescents at least age two years, six months but under age eighteen.
"DDA" means the developmental disabilities administration, an administration within department of social and health services.
"Department" means the department of social and health services.
"Documentation" means written information that provides support for certain claims, such as diagnoses, test scores, or residency for the purpose of establishing DDA eligibility.
"DSM-IV-TR" means the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders, fourth edition, text revision.
"DSM-5" means the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders, fifth edition.
"Eligible" means that DDA has determined that you have a condition that meets all of the requirements for a developmental disability as set forth in this chapter.
"ESIT" means early support for infants and toddlers, a program administered by the department of early learning.
"Expiration date" means a specific date that your eligibility as a client of DDA and all services paid by DDA will stop.
"FSIQ" means the full scale intelligence quotient which is a broad measure of intelligence achieved through one of the standardized intelligence tests included in these rules. Any standard error of measurement value will not be taken into consideration when making a determination for DDA eligibility.
"Functional limitation" means a reduced ability or lack of ability to perform an action or activity in the manner or within the range considered to be normal.
"ICAP" means the inventory for client and agency planning. This is a standardized assessment of functional ability. The adaptive behavior section of the ICAP assesses daily living skills and the applicant awareness of when to perform these skills. The goal is to get a snapshot of his/her ability.
"K-ABC" means Kaufman assessment battery for children, which is a clinical instrument for assessing intellectual development. It is an individually administered test of intelligence and achievement for children at least age two years, six months but under age twelve years, six months. The K-ABC comprises four global scales, each yielding standard scores. A special nonverbal scale is provided for children at least age four years but under age twelve years, six months.
"Leiter-R" means Leiter international performance scale - revised, which is an untimed, individually administered test of nonverbal cognitive ability for individuals at least age two years but under age twenty-one years.
"Medicaid personal care" or "MPC" is a medicaid state plan program as defined in chapter 388-106 WAC.
"Necessary supplemental accommodation representative" means an individual who receives copies of DDA planned action notices (PANs) and other department correspondence in order to help a client understand the documents and exercise the client's rights. A necessary supplemental accommodation representative is identified by a client of DDA when the client does not have a legal guardian and the client is requesting or receiving DDA services.
"Nonverbal" means that you do not possess sufficient verbal skills to complete a standard intellectual test.
"NSA" means necessary supplemental accommodations, which are services provided to you if you have a mental, neurological, physical, or sensory impairment or other problems that prevent you from getting program benefits in the same way that an unimpaired person would get them.
"Review" means DDA must determine that a current client of DDA still meets all of the requirements for a developmental disability as set forth in this chapter.
"RHC" means a residential habilitation center operated by the DDA.
"SIB-R" means the scale of independent behavior-revised which is an adaptive behavior assessment derived from quality standardization and norming. It can be administered as a questionnaire or as a carefully structured interview, with special materials to aid the interview process.
"SOLA" means a state operated living alternative residential service for adults operated by DDA.
"Stanford-Binet" is a battery of fifteen subtests measuring intelligence for individuals at least age two years but under age twenty-three years.
"Termination" means an action taken by DDA that stops your DDA eligibility and services paid by DDA. If your DDA eligibility is terminated your DDA authorized services will also be terminated. If you remain eligible for community first choice (CFC) or medicaid personal care (MPC) and you are under the age of eighteen DDA will continue to authorize this service. If you are eighteen or older CFC or MPC services will be authorized by the aging and long-term support administration.
"VABS" means Vineland adaptive behavior scales, which is an assessment to measure adaptive behavior in children from birth but under age eighteen years, nine months and in adults with low functioning in four separate domains: Communication, daily living skills, socialization, and motor skills.
"Wechsler" means the Wechsler intelligence scale, which is an individually administered measure of an individual's capacity for intelligent behavior. There are three Wechsler intelligence scales, dependent upon the age of the individual:
• Wechsler preschool and primary scale of intelligence for children at least age three years but under age seven years;
• Wechsler intelligence scale for children at least age six years but under age sixteen years; and
• Wechsler adult intelligence scale for individuals at least age sixteen years but under age seventy-four years.
"WJ III(r)" means the Woodcock-Johnson(r) III, a test which is designed to provide a co-normed set of tests for measuring general intellectual ability, specific cognitive abilities, scholastic aptitude, oral language, and academic achievement. The WJ III(r) is used for ages two and up.
[Statutory Authority: 2014 c 139, 2014 c 166, 2015 3rd sp.s. c 4, RCW 71A.12.030, and 71A.12.120. WSR 16-17-009, § 388-823-0010, filed 8/4/16, effective 9/4/16. Statutory Authority: RCW 71A.12.030, 71A.12.120 and 74.08.090. WSR 14-12-046, § 388-823-0010, filed 5/29/14, effective 7/1/14. Statutory Authority: RCW 71A.10.020, 71A.12.030, 71A.12.050, 71A.12.070, 71A.16.020, 71A.16.030, 71A.16.040, 71A.16.050, and chapters 71A.10, 71A.12, and 71A.16 RCW. WSR 05-12-130, § 388-823-0010, filed 6/1/05, effective 7/2/05.]
Site Contents
Selected content listed in alphabetical order under each group