SHB 1016
C 295 L 21
Synopsis as Enacted
Brief Description: Making Juneteenth a legal holiday.
Sponsors: House Committee on Appropriations (originally sponsored by Representatives Morgan, Lovick, Ryu, Wicks, Ortiz-Self, Berry, Leavitt, Johnson, J., Kloba, Shewmake, Simmons, Bateman, Lekanoff, Duerr, Fitzgibbon, Chopp, Slatter, Ramos, Ramel, Peterson, Gregerson, Valdez, Callan, Young, Hackney, Cody, Ormsby, Riccelli, Rude, Stonier, Fey, Frame, Santos, Macri, Taylor, Davis, Pollet, Bergquist and Harris-Talley).
House Committee on State Government & Tribal Relations
House Committee on Appropriations
Senate Committee on State Government & Elections
Senate Committee on Ways & Means

Juneteenth.  On June 19, 1865, more than two years after the Emancipation Proclamation, people in Galveston, Texas finally learned that the Civil War had ended and enslaved people had been freed.  June 19 has subsequently been celebrated as Juneteenth or Emancipation Day to commemorate the abolishment of slavery and recognize the contributions of Black/African Americans to society.  Forty-six states recognize Juneteenth as either a holiday or day of observance.  In 2007 Juneteenth was designated a legislatively recognized day in Washington as a day of remembrance for when slaves learned of their freedom.

State Holidays.  Washington recognizes 10 days as state legal holidays:  New Year's Day; Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; President's Day; Memorial Day; Independence Day; Labor Day; Veterans' Day; Thanksgiving Day; Native American Heritage Day; and Christmas Day.  Another 17 days are recognized by the Legislature, but they are not considered legal holidays.  Some of those days commemorate specific events, such as Welcome Home Vietnam Veterans Day.  Other days commemorate groups of people, such as Korean-American Day, or certain ideas, such as Human Trafficking Awareness Day and Public Lands Day.


June 19, known as Juneteenth, is designated a state legal holiday.

Votes on Final Passage:
House 89 9
Senate 47 1

July 25, 2021