
WAC 36-12-140  Method of counting over a boxer who is down.  (1) 
The referee shall give an injured boxer a count of eight when a knock-
down occurs. The referee does not have to continue to count if in the 
referee's opinion a boxer is unable to continue to box. The referee 
shall resume a count where it was left off if a boxer attempts to rise 
after being knocked down and goes down again immediately.

(2) When the referee determines a boxer has been knocked down, 
the referee shall require the boxers to cease boxing during the count. 
If the boxer rises prior to, or when the count is completed, the ref-
eree shall determine whether the boxer's reflexes and condition render 
it appropriate to continue the contest.

(3) If a boxer does not rise when the count of eight is comple-
ted, the referee shall continue the count to ten seconds.

(4) If the boxer being given a count by the referee is down on 
the canvas of the ring when the referee completes counting to ten sec-
onds, the referee shall wave both arms to indicate that the boxer has 
been knocked out and shall stop the contest. The referee may raise the 
hand of the opponent indicating that the opponent has won by a knock-
out.

(5) The referee's counting of seconds is the official count. How-
ever, when a boxer is knocked down, the timekeeper shall assist with 
starting and maintaining an accurate count by striking the edge of the 
ring platform once each second with a hammer or other equipment or 
signaling method.

(6) When a boxer is knocked down, the referee shall direct the 
opponent to move to the farthest neutral corner of the ring. If the 
opponent leaves the neutral corner, the referee shall interrupt the 
count and will not resume the count until the opponent returns to the 
neutral corner.

(7) If a boxer is knocked down and the referee is still counting 
when three minutes of a round has elapsed, the bell shall not be soun-
ded until the knocked down boxer rises and the referee indicates that 
the contest will continue. A boxer cannot be saved by the bell at the 
end of any round.

(8) If both boxers score simultaneous knockdowns (double knock-
down), the referee shall begin a count as in any knockdown. If one 
contestant does not rise before the count of ten, his opponent shall 
be declared the winner. If both contestants rise before completion of 
the count, the bout may continue at the discretion of the referee. If 
both contestants rise but neither can continue as determined by the 
referee and/or event physician, the winner will be determined by the 
scorecards. If both boxers remain down until the count of ten, the 
bout must be stopped and the decision is a technical draw.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.24.023, 67.08.015, and 67.08.017. WSR 
13-21-149, § 36-12-140, filed 10/23/13, effective 12/1/13. Statutory 
Authority: RCW 67.08.017, 67.08.105, and 43.24.023. WSR 02-20-094, § 
36-12-140, filed 10/1/02, effective 1/1/03. Statutory Authority: RCW 
67.08.017 (1), (9). WSR 02-03-069, § 36-12-140, filed 1/11/02, effec-
tive 2/11/02. Statutory Authority: Chapter 67.08 RCW. WSR 97-01-035, § 
36-12-140, filed 12/10/96, effective 1/10/97; Order 74-1, § 36-12-140, 
filed 11/19/74; Rule .04.140, filed 12/6/67; Rule .04.140, filed 
9/22/60, 3/17/60; subsections (8) and (9), filed 4/17/64.]
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