Beginning of Chapter  <<  15.28.010 >>   15.28.015


As used in this chapter:
(1) "Commission" means the Washington state fruit commission.
(2) "Shipment" or "shipped" includes loading in a conveyance to be transported to market for resale, and includes delivery to a processor or processing plant, but does not include movement from the orchard where grown to a packing or storage plant within this state for fresh shipment;
(3) "Handler" means any person who ships or initiates the shipping operation, whether as owner, agent or otherwise;
(4) "Dealer" means any person who handles, ships, buys, or sells soft tree fruits other than those grown by him or her, or who acts as sales or purchasing agent, broker, or factor of soft tree fruits;
(5) "Processor" or "processing plant" includes every person or plant receiving soft tree fruits for the purpose of drying, dehydrating, canning, pressing, powdering, extracting, cooking, quick-freezing, brining, or for use in manufacturing a product;
(6) "Soft tree fruits" mean Bartlett pears and all varieties of cherries, apricots, prunes, plums, and peaches, which includes all varieties of nectarines. "Bartlett pears" means and includes all standard Bartlett pears and all varieties, strains, subvarieties, and sport varieties of Bartlett pears including Red Bartlett pears, that are harvested and utilized at approximately the same time and approximately in the same manner.
(7) "Commercial fruit" or "commercial grade" means soft tree fruits meeting the requirements of any established or recognized fresh fruit or processing grade. Fruit bought or sold on orchard run basis and not subject to cull weighback shall be deemed to be "commercial fruit."
(8) "Cull grade" means fruit of lower than commercial grade except when such fruit included with commercial fruit does not exceed the permissible tolerance permitted in a commercial grade;
(9) "Producer" means any person who is a grower of any soft tree fruit;
(10) "District No. 1" or "first district" includes the counties of Chelan, Okanogan, Grant, Douglas, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Spokane and Lincoln;
(11) "District No. 2" or "second district" includes the counties of Kittitas, Yakima, and Benton county north of the Yakima river;
(12) "District No. 3" or "third district" comprises all of the state not included in the first and second districts;
(13) "Mail" or "send" for purposes of any notice relating to rule making, referenda, or elections means regular mail or electronic distribution, as provided in RCW 34.05.260 for rule making. "Electronic distribution" or "electronically" means distribution by electronic mail or facsimile mail;
(14) "Department" means the department of agriculture;
(15) "Director" means the director of agriculture.


Effective dates2002 c 313: See note following RCW 15.65.020.
Severability1989 c 354: See note following RCW 15.36.012.
Site Contents
Selected content listed in alphabetical order under each group