- RCW 43.97.025 Grant of authority—Appointment of members to commission—Vacancies. (1) The governor, the Columbia River Gorge commission, and all state agencies and counties are hereby directed and provided authority to carry out their respective functions and responsibilities in accordance with the compact executed pursuant to RCW 43.97.015, the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area Act, and the provisions of this chapter.
- (2) The governor shall appoint three members of the Columbia River Gorge commission who reside in the state of Washington, at least one of whom shall be a resident of the scenic area as defined in the act.
- (3)(a) The governing bodies of Clark, Klickitat, and Skamania counties shall each appoint one member of the Columbia River Gorge commission.
- (b) In the event the governing body of a county fails to make the appointments prescribed in section 5(a)(c)(1) of that act and (a) of this subsection, the governor shall appoint any such member.
- (4) Each member appointed by the governor shall be subject to confirmation by the Washington state senate and shall serve at the pleasure of the governor until their term shall expire or until a disqualifying change in residence.
- (5) Of those members appointed to the Columbia River Gorge commission by the governing body of the counties of Clark, Klickitat, and Skamania, the governor shall designate one member to serve for a term of five years and one to serve for six years. Of those members appointed directly by the governor pursuant to RCW 43.97.015, the governor shall designate one to serve a term of five years and one to serve a term of six years. All other members shall serve a period of four years.

Neither the governor nor governing body of any of the counties may appoint federal, state, or local elected or appointed officials as members to the Columbia River Gorge commission.

Vacancies shall be filled in accordance with the appointing procedure for the commission member occupying the seat before its vacancy. [1987 c 499 s 2.]