RCW 18.71.015 Commission established—Membership—Qualifications —Duties and powers—Compensation—Order of removal—Vacancies. Washington medical commission is established, consisting of thirteen individuals licensed to practice medicine in the state of Washington under this chapter, two individuals who are licensed in the state of Washington as physician assistants under chapter 18.71A RCW, and six individuals who are members of the public. At least two of the public members shall not be from the health care industry. Each congressional district now existing or hereafter created in the state must be represented by at least one physician member of the commission. The terms of office of members of the commission are not affected by changes in congressional district boundaries. Public members of the commission may not be a member of any other health care licensing board or commission, or have a fiduciary obligation to a facility rendering health services regulated by the commission, or have a material or financial interest in the rendering of health services regulated by the commission.

The members of the commission shall be appointed by the governor, and all terms of appointment shall be for four years. The governor shall consider such physician and physician assistant members who are recommended for appointment by the appropriate professional associations in the state. No member may serve more than two consecutive full terms. Each member shall hold office until a successor is appointed.

Each member of the commission must be an actual resident of this state, and, if a physician or physician assistant, must have been licensed to practice medicine in this state for at least five years.

The commission shall meet as soon as practicable after appointment and elect officers each year. Meetings shall be held at least four times a year and at such place as the commission determines and at such other times and places as the commission deems necessary. A majority of the commission members appointed and serving constitutes a quorum for the transaction of commission business.

The affirmative vote of a majority of a quorum of the commission is required to carry any motion or resolution, to adopt any rule, or to pass any measure. The commission may appoint panels consisting of at least three members. A quorum for the transaction of any business by a panel is a minimum of three members. A majority vote of a quorum of the panel is required to transact business delegated to it by the commission.

Each member of the commission shall be compensated in accordance with RCW 43.03.265 and in addition thereto shall be reimbursed for travel expenses incurred in carrying out the duties of the commission in accordance with RCW 43.03.050 and 43.03.060. Any such expenses shall be paid from funds appropriated to the department of health.

Whenever the governor is satisfied that a member of a commission has been guilty of neglect of duty, misconduct, or malfeasance or misfeasance in office, the governor shall file with the secretary of state a statement of the causes for and the order of removal from office, and the secretary shall forthwith send a certified copy of the statement of causes and order of removal to the last known post office address of the member.

Vacancies in the membership of the commission shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the governor. The members of the commission are immune from suit in an action, civil or criminal, based on its disciplinary proceedings or other official acts performed in good faith as members of the commission.

Whenever the workload of the commission requires, the commission may request that the secretary appoint pro tempore members of the commission. When serving, pro tempore members of the commission have all of the powers, duties, and immunities, and are entitled to all of the emoluments, including travel expenses, of regularly appointed members of the commission. [2022 c 240 s 34; 2019 c 55 s 4; 2006 c 8 s 103; 1999 c 366 s 4; 1994 sp.s. c 9 s 303. Prior: 1991 c 44 s 1; 1991 c 3 s 159; 1990 c 196 s 11; 1987 c 116 s 1; 1984 c 287 s 44; 1979 c 158 s 52; 1975-'76 2nd ex.s. c 34 s 41; 1975 1st ex.s. c 171 s 2; 1961 c 284 s 2.]

Findings—Intent—Part headings and subheadings not law—Severability—2006 c 8: See notes following RCW 5.64.010.

Severability—Headings and captions not law—Effective date—1994 sp.s. c 9: See RCW 18.79.900 through 18.79.902.

Legislative findings—Severability—Effective date—1984 c 287: See notes following RCW 43.03.220.

Effective date—Severability—1975-'76 2nd ex.s. c 34: See notes following RCW 2.08.115.

Secretary of health or designee ex officio member of health professional licensure and disciplinary boards: RCW 43.70.300.